Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-07-2010, 09:34   #1

PVC Pipe

I am a landscaper and work with pvc in our irrigation system installation. I was going to re-plumb the pressurized freshwater system in my boat with pvc. I was told that this was not an approved material...

is this true, if so why?
how about pex?
i am trying to get away from the clear reinforced hoses if i can.
yardpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 11:35   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
PVC & PEX are both fine, as plastics which comply with National Sanitation Foundation or FDA stadards for potable water.

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 13:35   #3

thanks for the reply..
i did not se why they would not work, and with my MUCHO experience with both, it would be very easy for me to run pvc to all my needed fixtures.

i was told that if i had my boat surveyed, they would notate it and it would have to be fixed for insurance as it does not meet some marine standard...

was this guy full of it or what?
yardpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 13:42   #4

Full of it.
Drew13440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 14:10   #5
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

ABYC* Standard H-23 — Installation of Potable Water Systems for Use on Boats
Specifies that plastics certified for use with potable water are acceptable.

* American Boat and Yacht Council

Old 09-07-2010, 14:27   #6

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: None at this time
My understanding is that it is fine as long as you use a flexible section anyplace you may get flexing. Most of the major boat builders now use PVC in their water/waste systems.
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 14:29   #7
S&S

Boat: 48' 1963 S&S yawl
Quote: