Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-01-2012, 16:56   #1

Boat: Gulfstar 37
Propane System - Pressure question

We always turned off the propane valve when leaving the boat or at night when sleeping aboard. In other words, I don't just count on the solenoid to shut off the system.

Recently we decided to "burn off" the pressure in the system as well. Basically, I turn off the tank valve, head inside and light a burner until it dies out. This was only taking seconds, until I had the fiberglass propane tank refilled. Since then it takes nearly two minutes for one burner to burn off the propane in the lines.

This doesn't make sense to me, but I'm not a propane expert.

Can anyone enlighten me?

Thanks,
Robert
Wanderlust, Gulfstar 37
sf-robert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2012, 17:08   #2

Boat: Morgan 321, BELIEVE
Re: Propane System - Pressure question

P1V1=P2V2

Pressure one X Volume One = Pressure Two X Volume Two

Could it be the captured pressure between the valve and the tank is increased since the bottle was refiled?
Duke 48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2012, 17:26   #3

Boat: Mainship Pilot 34

Robert:

As long as there is still liquid propane in the tank (and there will be until it is almost empty) then the pressure in the tank is solely dependent on the temperature of the tank. It will be 110 psig at 70 deg F.

But maybe your tank was almost empty and it was only full of gas and the pressure in the tank was very low. That is why it burned off in a few seconds. When you refilled the tank the pressure went up to the liquid vapor pressure and it took longer.

Having said that I am really surprised that it took ten times longer to burn off. That doesn't make sense.