Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2016, 06:10   #1
Registered User
 
DDabs's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: St. George's, Grenada
Boat: Caliber 40LRC
Posts: 1,505
Images: 16
Jabsco Water Pressure

I have a Jabsco PAR-MAX3 (30600-0012) and it seems as if they don't make this model anymore. I need to replace the unit. Will the new Jabsco PAR-MAX4 be plug and play? Or do I need to source an older unit to work with my system? Here's my setup:

__________________

__________________
DDabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2016, 06:30   #2
cat herder, extreme blacksheep
 
zeehag's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: furycame alley , tropics, mexico for now
Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41
Posts: 17,762
Images: 56
Send a message via Yahoo to zeehag Send a message via Skype™ to zeehag
Re: Jabsco Water Pressure

can what you have be rebuilt?
i have had mine rebuilt with great success.
__________________

zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2016, 06:31   #3
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 17,032
Re: Jabsco Water Pressure

A pump is a pump function wise, sort of, so if I understand the question, your asking if it will fit in without any changes in plumbing.
I'd take the old pump to the store and see if you can find one that the inlet and outlet are the same width. You may have to live with drilling new mounting holes though.
Nothing replaces having both in your hand to do a side by side comparison

On edit, I just saw Zees post, she does have a good point.
__________________
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2016, 06:37   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,573
Images: 240
Re: Jabsco Water Pressure

Probably have to change fuse/breaker size.
See ➥ http://www.xylemflowcontrol.com/file..._31xxx_wps.pdf
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2016, 07:57   #5
Registered User
 
ranger42c's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 42' Sportfish
Posts: 2,981
Re: Jabsco Water Pressure

Quote:
Originally Posted by DDabs View Post
I have a Jabsco PAR-MAX3 (30600-0012) and it seems as if they don't make this model anymore. I need to replace the unit. Will the new Jabsco PAR-MAX4 be plug and play? Or do I need to source an older unit to work with my system? Here's my setup:
Our original was a Par-MAX 3 (I think) 30620, and I replaced it with a ParMAX-4 31620 when the time came. Plug and play.

Jabsco customer service tells me the newer Par Max Plus (82400 series) also has the same footprint and mount as the earlier ones.

He mostly only cautioned about picking the right model (from within a series) so you don't exceed the PSI capabilities of your lines/hoses.

-Chris
__________________
Selby Bay, South River, Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger42c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2016, 08:12   #6
Registered User
 
Privilege's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bermuda
Boat: Privilege 435
Posts: 362
Images: 12
Re: Jabsco Water Pressure

Is the actual motor still working? You can buy service kits for the bottom end.

__________________
Privilege is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2016, 08:30   #7
Registered User
 
DDabs's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: St. George's, Grenada
Boat: Caliber 40LRC
Posts: 1,505
Images: 16
Re: Jabsco Water Pressure

The pump works, it just takes longer to get pressure and seems to turn on more when the water faucets are all closed. Could this be an issue of the accumulator tank (Jabsco 1L) not holding pressure?
__________________
DDabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2016, 08:38   #8
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 17,032
Re: Jabsco Water Pressure

It could also be sucking air, it could be as simple as a loose fitting
__________________
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2016, 08:42   #9
Registered User
 
DDabs's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: St. George's, Grenada
Boat: Caliber 40LRC
Posts: 1,505
Images: 16
Re: Jabsco Water Pressure

I checked all fittings and can't seem to find any leaks, but the system also runs to areas I can't really get to :/
__________________
DDabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2016, 08:49   #10
Registered User
 
Privilege's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bermuda
Boat: Privilege 435
Posts: 362
Images: 12
Re: Jabsco Water Pressure

Quote:
Originally Posted by DDabs View Post
The pump works, it just takes longer to get pressure and seems to turn on more when the water faucets are all closed. Could this be an issue of the accumulator tank (Jabsco 1L) not holding pressure?
The innards of the lower portion of the pumps do wear out and need to be replaced. Its an easy job to do. You usually just need the rubber bits. If they are worn, it takes longer to pump the water up to pressure. It could be that the worn pump is also allowing the pressurized water to go the wrong way back towards the tank (I'm guessing this bit). To find your answer, let all of the air out of the accumulator tank or close the valve leading to it, thus effectively removing it from the system. Bring the system back up to pressure. If the pump still turns on again then either you have a water leak or the water is getting back to the tank.
__________________
Privilege is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2016, 08:52   #11
Registered User
 
DDabs's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: St. George's, Grenada
Boat: Caliber 40LRC
Posts: 1,505
Images: 16
Re: Jabsco Water Pressure

Thanks Privilege
__________________
DDabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 05:30   #12
Registered User
 
ranger42c's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 42' Sportfish
Posts: 2,981
Re: Jabsco Water Pressure

Quote:
Originally Posted by DDabs View Post
Could this be an issue of the accumulator tank (Jabsco 1L) not holding pressure?

Yes, maybe. You can check the pressure at the schraeder valve, and if necessary you can add air. OTOH, if while doing that you find water escaping from the accumulator, Jabsco tells me the internal bladder has failed and a new accumulator is in order.

-Chris
__________________

__________________
Selby Bay, South River, Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger42c is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
jabsco, water

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil Pressure Warning Light Works, Pressure Gauge Shows Zero Gone2long Engines and Propulsion Systems 17 29-01-2015 04:40
Pressure water pump overpowers hot water tank NorthPacific Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 18 11-11-2014 01:14
Jabsco pressure switch mparent Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 1 01-07-2014 07:32
For Sale: Jabsco 31600-0092 Marine ParMax 3 High Pressure Water System Pump loved cruising Classifieds Archive 0 11-09-2013 16:35
Send Over-Pressure Shore Water Over the Side with Pressure Valve ? sdowney717 Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 4 15-08-2011 19:36



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:39.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.