Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-05-2012, 09:59   #1

Jabsco electric head troubleshooting

Hello,

I have a 6 year old Jabsco 370100090 electric head that is having a hard time pumping raw seawater into the bowl and I am trying to figure out what could be wrong. The specific problem is when the button is pushed the pump turns on but little to no water enters the head. What water does go in only comes out the holes on the back side of the bowl (I don't see water on front side of the bowl). The water that does go into the bowl sometimes doesn't look like fresh water (hopefully you get my meaning )

The raw water comes in from a thru-hull fitting which has a seacock connected to the line running to the head. A few weeks ago, the pump was acting funny so I took it apart and found a broken impeller which I replaced. I was thinking there was a blockage in the raw water line, seacock, or low inlet pressure. I disconnected the raw water line from the pump and replaced it with a line stuck in a bucket of water. When the pump was activated it pulled the water from the bucket so the pump seems ok. Blowing on the raw water line doesn't seem to indicate any blockages in the line or seacock.

Would anything on the discharge side of the pump effect the raw water that is pumped in (blocked tank vent, joker valve, etc)? Since I mentioned that sometimes the water that enters the bowl through the top of the bowl doesn't look "fresh", is it possible for discharge in the waste line to make it back to the raw water outlet?