Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-08-2009, 20:00   #1

Boat: Cal 34
Installing Head and Shower in an Old Boat

I am new to serious boat. I've sailed my own small boat and have done a bit of fiberglass and I've done some bareboat charters, but I'm looking into buying a boat.

I found a killer deal on a boat, but I'm concerned that it doesn't have a head or shower and both are a requirement for me.

The owner says a porta potty is fine, but I'm looking for a liveaboard.

I'd love to get this boat as it's instant equity, given the small amount he's asking for it and what I know about the general condition elsewhere.

The boat is a Columbia 30 and most of these boats have a head, shower and holding tank and it has a separate area for the head so I think the space in there for everything needed. How much would it cost and how practical would it be to install on an early 70s boat? The owner says they have the through-hulls and some of the adapters, but they were removed ages ago.

Is it something that's time consuming? Is it difficult? Is it expensive?

I've been looking around for parts, but honestly, I don't know what parts are required and how the system goes together and I'm concerned that this sort of thing is something where trial and error may have disastrous results. ;-)
HobieFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2009, 21:21   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: 1976 Sabre 28-2
Send a message via Yahoo to roverhi