Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 20-02-2011, 04:19   #1

Boat: Shorebro,Royal 33 - Aloisius
How to Clean Plastic Water Container

Anyone out there with knowledge of plastic.
I have a large hard plastic container, 25 gal, that was once used for gas. I happened to find it floating in the water. We saw a cigarette boat load up with gas and pitch these things into the water near St. Vincent. Anyway, I am making a water collection system and am thinking about cleaning this to put water into. I will then pump it out through a screen filter to a pump, then through a 20 micron filter to my tanks. I am currently filling it with water and Clorox, letting it stand for 12 hours, draining and doing the process again. Will this work? Is there anything else I should do? Can it even be used?

Old 20-02-2011, 05:03   #2
Sponsoring Vendor

Community Sponsor

Boat: FP Athena 38' Poerava
I'm no chemical engineer but it would seem that simple water and Clorox would not do the trick. Gas and plastic are oil based and tend to stick well to each other while repelling water. I would think a good dose of non toxic degrease, scrub pads and elbow grease would do the trick. But then certain plastics, even cleaned well, give of toxins into water that some find unsuitable for consumption.
Tellie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2011, 05:20   #3

This is a container that I can not my hand into. Maybe a degreaser and vibrate.
Old 20-02-2011, 05:29   #4
Freelance Delivery Skipper..

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate

As a tight budget sailor even I would not contemplate using a former fuel container for water... not unless your addicted to the taste of fuel from a syphoning period in your past..

Born To Be Wild
boatman61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2011, 05:31   #5
mrm

Boat: crew on Bavaria 38 Cruiser