Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-03-2018, 11:31   #1

Boat: Riva 48
Engine driven watermaker pump

Dear all,

Do you think it is possible to use an engine driven triplex plunger pump for both cooling water">engine cooling water circulation and watermaker operation?

I have some experience in building watermakers (I have a 1/3 hp electric motor driven watermaker that takes about 30 amps to make 6 gpm) and I noticed that most of the time when I use it I run the engine anyways. So, the idea here is to simplify the process and use the engine more efficiently.

I understand that the biggest drawback of engine driven watermaker pumps is alignment of the pump so that it does not eat the belt and keeping the pressure constant as rpms change.

The Yanmar uses a fresh water pump that produces 7.1 gpm at 2,700 rpms (at max engine rpms) and the head is given as 1 ft. I have found a suitable triplex plunger pump that I want to install in place of the Yanmar fresh water pump (easy installation and belt alignment) that has similar specs. It produces 7.8 gpm at 2,700 rpms, suction head is given as up to 3 ft.

My calculations show that if I run the engine at fast idle, the triplex plunger pump will turn at 900 rpms, produce 2 gpm and draw about 1 hp from the engine when I increase the pressure to 800 psi. When I am not producing water the valve will be open and the pump will run like a regular (if somewhat inefficient) transfer pump. The pump when mounted will be approximately 1 ft below the water level, so there will be no head at all.