Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2018, 05:30   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: No home port, full time liveaboard
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 50 (aka 49)
Posts: 292
Cruisair trouble

I have a 3-zone cruisair airconditioning installation. One of the 3 display units in the cabins was dead so I swapped it to another location where it does work.

I then followed its cable to this box (first picture below) in the stern. I opened it up (2nd and following pictures) and verified that the logic board in there does receive 220 V.

I can’t yet exclude there’s nothing wrong with the cable to the display unit since I don’t have a spare one to test with but looking at the connectors it seems highly unlikely. They show no sign of corrosion or ill fitting. I would therefore suspect that logicboard (or the metallic cylinder next to it) in the first place.

Anybody has experience with this and can tell me what to measure and how, so I can narrow things further down?

(And does anybody know how to wire a spare cable in the 6 pin RJ12 connectors so I can make a test cable to exclude that for sure—assuming I can find the connectors here?)

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	401EE808-7379-4B29-BD1F-922F90668C70.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	404.7 KB
ID:	163720   Click image for larger version

Name:	0FD178C4-33E7-42D6-B3B6-EDDE6DFD03E3.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	415.3 KB
ID:	163721  

Click image for larger version

Name:	82115DA6-A2ED-47CC-8C92-F66D73B67BAE.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	426.1 KB
ID:	163722   Click image for larger version

Name:	22F3FD1B-9B17-4885-9447-6C3D32AAA0E5.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	417.8 KB
ID:	163723  

Click image for larger version

Name:	B9BC1E2F-14DA-47F1-9866-BA01736E6317.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	413.7 KB
ID:	163724  
__________________

2big2small is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 05:46   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Fl
Boat: Wauquiez Hood 38
Posts: 1,171
Re: Cruisair trouble

The cylinder is a capacitor. Very easy to test with a multimeter. Youtube has many vids on it.
__________________

__________________
Keth

Boat Vinyl Lettering and Graphics
Bleemus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 06:15   #3
Registered User
 
rolandcavanagh's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Jamestown, RI
Boat: Grand banks 32' Classic
Posts: 79
Re: Cruisair trouble

I would suspect the cable, either it is cut or an end connector is not attached properly. Next would be to look at the receptacle the cable plugs into on that control board (try plugging the suspect cable into one of the other receptacles).

The problem is not with that capacitor. The compressor wouldn't start at all if it is bad.

Happy hunting
rolandcavanagh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 06:25   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: No home port, full time liveaboard
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 50 (aka 49)
Posts: 292
Re: Cruisair trouble

All connectors and components are too far apart to simply swap things around and I can’t possibly start pulling the existing cables, which is why I’m looking into making my own.
2big2small is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 06:39   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Fort Pierce Fl
Boat: Gulfstar 36 MS
Posts: 201
Re: Cruisair trouble

It is just a telephone cord 6 pin if I remember correctly but a cat five cable should plug into the socket.
Outlaw7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 06:49   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Fort Pierce Fl
Boat: Gulfstar 36 MS
Posts: 201
Re: Cruisair trouble

It is just a telephone cord 6 pin if I remember correctly but a cat five cable should plug into the socket.
Outlaw7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2018, 12:57   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: No home port, full time liveaboard
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 50 (aka 49)
Posts: 292
Re: Cruisair trouble

So I got all the bits and pieces and a crimping tool and made myself a 6 wire “phone cable” yesterday. I used it in a known good location where it worked, and then it didn’t work in the faulty location so I can now reasonably exclude cable issues and the conclusion is that I have a faulty logic board.

Now could this be something silly like a fuse on that logic board (pictures in first post)? Or perhaps another typical issue for these particular boards? Anybody has any experience with these?
__________________

2big2small is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cruisair

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cruisair water flow problem mrfordsr Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 16 30-03-2009 17:48
Cruisair Question stuffinbox Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 7 16-11-2007 12:26
Wanted: Cruisair Waterproof Hatch Bag SailWiz Classifieds Archive 1 10-06-2007 14:40
Cruisair PMA1000 SW Circ Pump markpj23 Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 0 16-07-2006 18:09



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:24.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.