Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2012, 00:22   #1

Boat: Hinckley 49, Evening Star, originally owned by Lawrence Rockefeller
Anti Syphon and the Solenoid Value

I have an electric jabsco 37010 head plumbed to the sink outlet for a fresh water flush.
The issue I have is that the pump won't prime due to the anti syphon valve which is between the sink outlet and the pump inlet. I have read in this forum that the anti syphon valve should be between the pump and the toilet bowel, this is very logical and some jabsco manuals state this. Other jabsco manuals say different and say to use a solenoid valve to close the anti syphon on priming, or flushing.These valves are $160 for a basic one and $250 for a flash one, I can't see why I need to ever use a solenoid when the easy solution is to place the anti syphon is on the exit of the pump.
Any suggestions?
Markhunter1097 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 21:06   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Islander 34
Re: Anti Syphon and the Solenoid Value

If your connected the water supply to the sink drain below the bowl, as per peggy's recommendation, then an anti-siphon valve is not needed at all. I'm assuming thats what your doing.

If your connected to the pressure water system, then you will want a solenoid valve before the anti siphon valve. With a hard connection to a water line, the anti siphon always goes before the pump... There is a real danger of cross contamination in the electric pumps on marine heads. So In my mind, the anti-syphon / backflow preventer always goes before the pump...

The only exception is using peggys method of connecting off the sink drain. its an elegant solution to a problem too.
sailorchic34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 00:54   #3