Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2011, 13:13   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Adding Freon to a Fridge

We are at anchor on the east coast of Puerto Rico and got a puncture hole in our freezer we temporarily fixed the hole but need to find a place to add freon in PR. Any help would ne very appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Risen242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 13:34   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,571
Images: 240
Re: How do you get Freon added to a fridge?

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Risen242.

YOU don't add freon. A professional might (I doubt it); but would more likely convert you to another gas.
__________________

__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 13:35   #3
Registered User
 
Astrid's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northern British Columbia, part of the time in Prince Rupert and part of the time on Moresby Island.
Boat: 50-ft steel Ketch
Posts: 1,885
Send a message via MSN to Astrid Send a message via Yahoo to Astrid
Re: How do you get Freon added to a fridge?

I doubt that you can get freon anymore; most likely you will need to look for an HCFC or newer non-ozone depleting refridgerant gas.

There are a number of places near San Juan:

APPLIANCES REPAIR > Puerto Rico (PR) > SuperPagesPR.com > > puerto rico, yellow pages, hotel, restaurants, cars, inns, dentists, doctors, government, lawyers, attorneys, PR
__________________
'Tis evening on the moorland free,The starlit wave is still: Home is the sailor from the sea, The hunter from the hill.
Astrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 14:59   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 23
Re: How do you get Freon added to a fridge?

R12 is almost impossible to find as it has been banned in US and illegal for anyone to refill even if they have some left. I think it is still available in some countries(not sure which). You should be able to find a repairman to do fairly simple conversion.
__________________
Bulldawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 17:00   #5
Registered User
 
Auspicious's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Boat: HR 40
Posts: 1,793
Send a message via Skype™ to Auspicious
Re: Adding Freon to a Fridge

*sigh* Ice pick or knife?
__________________
S/V Auspicious
AuspiciousWorks
Beware cut and paste sailors
Auspicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 17:27   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Re: Adding Freon to a Fridge

Thanks for all the responses. Dont know why I didnt join earlier. And yes Auspicous it was an ice pick. Not fun.
Anyway can u just put in a diffrent gas or do I have to get a whole new system installed, and how much would that cost?
And how much time am I looking at for the process?
Was going to go to port in Fajrdo in the northeast. Anyone know anything about it?
Thanks again in Advance.
__________________
Risen242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 18:16   #7
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,022
Re: Adding Freon to a Fridge

Freon is still readily available, about $50/pound in the US and your system probably takes one or two pounds, so it is not a big deal. However, you don't just fill a system once it has been opened. You evacuate it (put it under vacuum), confirm that it has been repaired, and then refill it.

You need to confirm exactly which gas your boat uses, folks tend to call everything "freon" but read the compressor plate and find out exactly what you need. A licensed repairer uses a completely separate set of equipment for each gas type, and if it really is R12 a lot of shops just may not deal with it any more.

Changing gas types sometimes will work, depending on the particulars of your system. A new system...depends on the capacity, whether anything can be re-used, but should just be a day job for a pro.
__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 18:20   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Boat: 1975 Pearson 35
Posts: 145
Re: Adding Freon to a Fridge

You need to find out exactly what type of freon in needs, how old is the system, R12 has not been used in some time, R134A is and a few others, Freon is actully a trade name.
__________________
Juniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 18:23   #9
Registered User
 
four winds's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wandering the US Gulf Coast
Boat: 78 Pearson323 Four Winds
Posts: 2,136
Re: Adding Freon to a Fridge

Yes, the r12 type is available, just has to be done by a pro with the proper containment equipment. It can't be released into the atmosphere legally unless by accident. It's more efficient than other refrigerant gases so stick with it if possible.

Could be hard to find someone that still works on it because of the certification and cost of equipment.
__________________
four winds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 18:38   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2008
Boat: Little Harbor Whisperjet 40
Posts: 334
Re: Adding Freon to a Fridge

Just to be clear, you don't switch refrigerants!

There are very few cases where that will work and all require a trained refrigeration specialist.
__________________
Highlander40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 18:47   #11
Registered User
 
four winds's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wandering the US Gulf Coast
Boat: 78 Pearson323 Four Winds
Posts: 2,136
Re: Adding Freon to a Fridge

Upgrade kits for do it yourself were quite common in my neck of the woods a few years ago, not sure about now.

On my old Chevy truck the kit included adapter fittings, a cleaner or "wash" to fill and flush the lubricant from the old system, and the new refrigerant. The lube was incompatible and had to be flushed.

The problem is the components aren't sized properly for the new less efficient gas, so the system doesn't cool as quickly nor as cold. That would be the case for any r12 based system if upgraded. I think that would be an issue for a boat system.
__________________
four winds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 05:26   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Boat: 1975 Pearson 35
Posts: 145
Re: Adding Freon to a Fridge

There are R12 replacements but be careful about using some of them as some are propane/butane based and as such are flamable.
__________________
Juniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 06:26   #13
Registered User
 
bene505's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NOT on Long Island - Look elsewhere! :-)
Boat: Beneteau 50
Posts: 453
Re: Adding Freon to a Fridge

What year is your boat/fridge? Ours was built in 2000 and the refrigerant is 134a. Follow your refrigerant tubes and you will eventually find something that will say 134a or R134a or R12 on it.

Knowing that will help when you call the pro who will work on it.

Good luck with it!

Regards,
Brad
__________________
Email address is: b-cf "at" hallmont "dot" com

2000 Beneteau 505 "Summer Boost"
bene505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 06:27   #14
Senior Cruiser
 
osirissail's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: A real life Zombie from FL
Boat: Gulfstar 53 - Osiris
Posts: 5,416
Images: 2
Re: Adding Freon to a Fridge

As Hellosailor and others have mentioned you do not change gases such as R12/22 to R134A. The lubricants and other factors like seals, etc. are different inside the systems due to the chemical nature of the various gases. Additionally you need a/c gauges and hoses with fittings appropriate to your system. The service fittings on older units are quite different from the newer 134A systems. Read the manual for your system carefully as adding gas to your system is a technical process requiring putting in exactly the correct amount and not too little or too much. And the little cans of refrigerant are not cheap, in Trinidad a single small cost me US$50 from a marine supplier.
- - And as stated you need to have the unit tested to see if the repair is valid or the unit still leaks. The pressures inside can be such as to dislodge your repair especially when radical temperature changes occur from room temperature to freezing.
- - The are service shops in Fajardo, P.R. who can deal with your system. There is also two marine supply stores in the Villa Marina area that can advise you as to who and where you can find a repair shop. If you are further south then Marina del Rey would have vendors to do the job.
- - Using an ice pick to remove frost is rather dangerous and expensive if your aim is not good. I defrost my units in less than a minute using a garden hose and spray nozzle. I spray the cold plate/evaporate bin with the water and frost and ice disappear quite rapidly. Since I built a drain into the bottom of my boxes, the water drains away quickly. Otherwise you would have to scoop and sponge out the water. Which is not bad as you get to clean the inside walls of the box at the same time.
__________________
osirissail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 09:07   #15
Registered User
 
four winds's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wandering the US Gulf Coast
Boat: 78 Pearson323 Four Winds
Posts: 2,136
Re: Adding Freon to a Fridge

Generally I don't posts links, nor do I rarely go to those posted by others. I prefer the issues to be summarized and stated based on personal experiences and knowledge of the member. Similar to a face to face conversation.

But, here's a link to an e-how article about refrigerant conversion and the issues involved. Still, after converting my truck, I wouldn't do it again. I did so because I could do it myself for less than a pro using r12. I doesn't cool as well even if done properly. Just like new cars take longer to cool down on a hot day especially if travel speeds are slow and compressor rpm lower than highway speeds, when an old car would be throwing snow balls out of the vents in two minutes.

I would not convert. Going to the trouble to repair with r12 (if that's what it has) will be worth the extra expense and trouble.

How to Replace a R12 With a R134a | eHow.com
__________________

__________________
four winds is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
refrigerator

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Refrigeration and Freon sabray Auxiliary Equipment & Dinghy 3 25-09-2010 23:46
Recharge Freon Kit benjiwoodboat Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 3 08-05-2010 16:59
For Sale: R-12 Freon / Refrigerant, 30-lb Jug MermaidLil Classifieds Archive 0 14-12-2009 13:28
Adding electric compressor to engine-driven fridge? bene505 Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 4 01-03-2009 20:23



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:14.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.