Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Plumbing Systems and Fixtures
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-06-2015, 04:00   #1

Boat: Leopard 42 Sailing Cat
AC coil cleaning...white vinegar or harsh chemicals??

I thought for sure this had been discussed before, probably at neaseum but I can't find anything...probably my search technique.

Anyway, I am new to marine AC systems and the maintenance of them...I was told that to service the systems and clean the coils I need to flush the system and get rid of the barnacles and sediment etc. I was also told about a number of different products to use one being Barnacle Buster and another being white vinegar.

To anyone with experience in this, can you offer any input and/or point me to a previous discussion on this topi that I can read?

Thank you for your help and wisdom. : o)
chrtucke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2015, 04:20   #2
CLOD

Boat: none
Re: AC coil cleaning...white vinegar or harsh chemicals??

vinegar is very overrated
Old 30-06-2015, 04:49   #3

Boat: 58' Sedan Bridge

Rydlyme, Barnacle Buster, and Triton Marine (something like that) are all designed specifically for descaling water systems like that. Google those for their websites, and there have been some recent threads here about flushing ACs, too.

-Chris
Old 30-06-2015, 13:42   #4

Boat: 2019 Seawind 1160 Lite

If you searched Barnacle Buster, you would probably find a few posts from me regarding my recent use of the stuff. Something from one of the posts: