Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Propellers & Drive Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-07-2016, 15:57   #1

Propellers. 3 or 4 blade? What is the difference?

Good afternoon. I currently have a 26" X 24 pitch 3 blade propeller. I Need to install a new prop. There is a 24"x 26 pitch 4 blade prop available locally. I'm not a propeller expert and wonder if this propeller would be ok to use, or if I'm asking for trouble.

Boat is 35,000 lbs. 40' overall, 38 at the waterline, aprox. 12'. 5' beam at the waterline. 130 hp, 2500 max RPM, and a 2.45: 1 velvet drive. She's a motorsailer and I use her as such. Normal cruising RPM is 1800 or less. Hull speed is 8.5 knots, and I never run her at full RPM.

So are there any prop guys on the board that can offer up their opinions?
Jsta_Rebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2016, 11:56   #2

Re: Propellers. 3 or 4 blade? What is the difference?

I'm in SXM. I lost a blade off of my prop and we limped on into Margot. Mike over at Shrimpy's has the prop I spoke about in my first post. We're side saddling up the dinghy this afternoon to go inside and post up to haul out tomorrow. Overdue for a haul out anyway, so I may as well get new bottom paint and a new cutless bearing as well as check the shaft rather than changing the prop in the water and calling things good. However, I'm a boatie and don't sail around on a 400,000 dollar boat so saving $1,500.00 is a big deal to me..