Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-10-2017, 11:32   #1

Jamming cutlass bearing

When I hauled my Amel sailboat last spring I checked my cutlass bearing to find it solidly resisting my effort to turn the prop when the boat is out of gear. I have been cruising for 30 years & have never had this happen before. I installed the bearing 7 years ago & so far it has hung in there without appreciable change each time I do the classic up & down check for looseness. Now turning the shaft at all is very difficult & when it does move there is a loud squeal from the area of the cutlass bearing. Has anyone had this happen to them? Any ideas on what is wrong.

Alan
alangoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2017, 11:44   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: Jamming cutlass bearing

Hi Alan,

I have to admit this is the first time I've heard of a cutlass bearing getting tighter over time.

Any chance something is jammed in the bearing between the rubber and the prop shaft? Could be a barnacle, sand (been shallow water or run aground lately?) or other.

Have you tried squirting some lube into the bearing to see what happens? I would use olive oil or something guaranteed safe with rubber and plastic materials.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2017, 12:09   #3

Boat: Northwest 21 & Islander 36 (too many boats problem)