Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Propellers & Drive Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-12-2016, 17:27   #1

Counter rotating engines on catamarans

I am a newbie to sailing and catamarans, have been studying adds for catamarans for about a year now and I have yet to see any one mention the use of counter rotating engines. I have run across discussions on prop walk with strait shaft inboard engines. Could it be that they all have counter rotating engines so they do not even say any thing in the specs? Or would this not have any bearing on the handling of a catamaran?
I have tried searching for other posts to no avail, maybe I'm a dummy and it would not any effect on the handling of a twin hull.
Any answers or links would be appreciated, thanks.
45acp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2016, 17:34   #2

Re: counter rotating engines on catamarans

Quote:
Originally Posted by 45acp View Post
I am a newbie to sailing and catamarans, have been studying adds for catamarans for about a year now and I have yet to see any one mention the use of counter rotating engines. I have run across discussions on prop walk with strait shaft inboard engines. Could it be that they all have counter rotating engines so they do not even say any thing in the specs? Or would this not have any bearing on the handling of a catamaran?
I have tried searching for other posts to no avail, maybe I'm a dummy and it would not any effect on the handling of a twin hull.
Any answers or links would be appreciated, thanks.