Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-10-2013, 05:14   #16

Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 400
Re: Wanting To Setup A Small Sail Charter Business

I am not an expert on maritime law, but I have never heard of the Jones act, or a rule that would require a boat to be built in the USA to run a charter business.

In regards to the captains license:

After you pass the USCG captains test, you must verify your experience on a boat by turning in prof of being on a boat. When you provide said prof, you will give the USCG the tonnage of the vessel's that you have experience on. Based on that, the USCG will normally issue a license as large as the vessels you have experience on up to 100 ton. I don't believe that because you once took an ocean cruise on a ocean liner that they will count that experience.
Rocketman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-2013, 07:03   #17

Merchant Marine Act of 1920 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

I don't think the Jones Act would apply to charters, unless perhaps they were one-way trips between two points.
denverd0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 05:06   #18

Quote:
Originally Posted by denverd0n View Post
Merchant Marine Act of 1920 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

I don't think the Jones Act would apply to charters, unless perhaps they were one-way trips between two points.
This got me thinking so I did some digging (intetnet source so take it for what it's worth). Based on this, you can do bare boat charters but if you do commercial work with staff on board, you are subject to the Jones Act. It does appear that there is a waiver program available for small vessels.

Of course this is also one of those gray areas where you might get away with it because that isn't the primary focus.

The Jones Act

Small Vessel Waiver Program
valhalla360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 06:09   #19

Boat: Leopard 40

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocketman View Post