Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-08-2009, 17:20   #1

Training - Advice for Total Beginner?

I am planning to purchase my first boat in the next 8-12 months (for liveaboard and sailing 3-4 days per week). The selection in Hawaii seems to be a bit limited, so I will probably buy in California. I will then hire a delivery captain that can teach me how to sail on the way to Hawaii.

I don't want to start crossing the Pacific with zero knowledge, so what type of classes should I take before the journey? Should I take ASA courses, or the much cheaper classes offered by the yacht clubs? I will also read as many books as I can get my hands on before then.

I'm trying to limit my spending as much as possible until after I buy the boat. If I don't take the ASA courses before the purchase, I will definitely take them after.

BTW- I'm an IT consultant/programmer, so my work schedule is very flexible.
todm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2009, 17:23   #2

edit: the purchase will be dependent upon finding a slip near Honolulu.
Old 17-08-2009, 17:29   #3

Boat: Sceptre 41
Get in touch with Skprjohn he started a sailing class at his yacht club. He can give you info on sailing classes in Hawaii I bet.

Charlie

Between us there was, as I have already said somewhere, the bond of the sea. Besides holding our hearts together through long periods of separation, it had the effect of making us tolerant of each other's yarns -- and even convictions. Heart of Darkness
Joseph Conrad
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2009, 01:02   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(
Welcome aboard todm - Yes Skipper John and a few others are Hawaii resident. I lived on Oahu for a couple of years as well. Wasn't sailing at the time.

Living aboard in Hawaii takes some local knowledge - I am sure Skipper John will have some good advice.