Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-06-2011, 23:30   #1

Boat: 1967 Angleman Sea Spirit
Sailing Instructor

First of all please let me introduce myself. I am a retired navy veteran and have many years at sea with the US Navy. I have singlehanded a 34 foot wooden ketch for over 1000 knotical miles in all kinds of weather conditions. How do I become a sailing instructor, there are tons of sailing schools for beginer sailors. But when I google sailing instructor schools I get nothing.
Old 09-06-2011, 23:36   #2

Boat: Wauquiez Pretorien - 35ft
Send a message via Skype™ to cyclepro
Re: Sailing Instructor

Try this:

Become a Sailing Instructor - American Sailing Association

Good luck
cyclepro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 09:03   #3

Experience is a good teacher and the link above will show you how to get to be an instructor. Do you think that 1000 knotical miles is enough to learn the nuances of the seas and the terminology needed to be a successful instructor?

Bill Burgette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 09:08   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Research vessel for a university, retired now.

I used to teach sailing while attending the maritime academy but not at the academy.

Requirements:
A Coast Guard license, usually a "six-pack" (6 tons, six passengers on an uninspected vessel) license is good enough. One of the requirements for a license is to be able to document one year of sea time within the past five years. There is also the exam including a sail endorsement and some employers may want a radar endorsement, a drug test, color blindness test, physicians exam and you need to acquire a TWIC card.