Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-02-2016, 15:46   #1

RYA Day Skipper Theory (shorebased)

Evening all

Through my employer I have the opportunity to do a five-day Day Skipper Theory course, all of which is shorebased.

I have limited sailing experience of six nights' aboard monohulls covering upwards of 100 miles including night miles, and did the RYA Competent Crew certificate in 2008. Since 2012 I have done no yacht sailing whatsoever although I have maintained my water legs on dinghies.

The option is open to me to take the Practical course instead of the Theory course which is attractive but - and it is a big but - I would like the benefit of others' experiences of shorebased learning of the Day Skipper Theory before I decide whether to go ahead with the shorebased course over five days in April. It seems to me to be a rather long course however if that is five days of invaluable tuition on navigation, seamanship etc which would simply not be possible on the Practical course, I will probably go for it.

Generally any comments or thoughts would be helpful.

Many thanka.

Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk
Astraeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2016, 16:10   #2

Re: RYA Day Skipper Theory (shorebased)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astraeus View Post
Evening all

Through my employer I have the opportunity to do a five-day Day Skipper Theory course, all of which is shorebased.

I have limited sailing experience of six nights' aboard monohulls covering upwards of 100 miles including night miles, and did the RYA Competent Crew certificate in 2008. Since 2012 I have done no yacht sailing whatsoever although I have maintained my water legs on dinghies.