Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-12-2009, 04:25   #1

Boat: '02 Jeanneau Sun Odyssy 43DS
Internationally Recognized Qualifications

Hi

I am a newbie sailor and I am after the most internationally recognized sailing certificate, basically at present I am living in Hong Kong, but I tend to move often, therefore I would like a qualification which I could use wherever I go.

I have been told that the IYT could be the one, but I am looking for info from fellow skippers.

Thanks
Andres
andreshs1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2009, 05:10   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Andres.

The International Yachtmaster Training has numerous levels of qualification, and is generally well-accepted world-wide.

To what exact purpose do you wish to put your training & certification?

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2009, 04:41   #3

Boat: '02 Jeanneau Sun Odyssy 43DS
I dont want to be a professional skipper, just want to be able to charter yatchs wherever I feel like.

Regards
Andres
andreshs1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2009, 05:08   #4

Boat: Van de Stadt 34'
The International Certificate of Competency (ICC) is the credit card sized licance that is recognised in Europe for charter, and is available from a country's National Sailing Association. Here, if you have completed Yachtmaster Offshore level, your ICC will also be validated for power, as you are assumed to have manouvered your sailing yacht under power and are deemed competent. Safety downside is, a skipper with (relatively) little command experience can charter a motor boat of up to 8o feet or 80 tons once it is not required to have paid crew. This is a little excessive, I feel, but thems the rules . .
Old 25-03-2010, 07:37   #5