Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-06-2009, 04:02   #1

Boat: River Barge 77FT X 15FT
I Have a Dream! (Or Am i Mad?)

I have a dream! or am i mad.

I am retiring in August 09 and want to change my life, however it not simple this is my idealised concept retire (48) go on a fast track yacht master course, then buy a catamaran take my girl and two kids and sail the world with them for 3 years or so. off course it sounds simple i know that it is a huge leap not just for me but for them.

Other than the course i have no real experience other than, speed boats, diving, the odd day sailing but nothing substantive at all.

so what do you think madness or possible? will i know what im doing after the course, killing my self is one thing but the family is another thing
(we have spent allot of money on them over the years).

I will make them do safety and sailing course's as well sort out schooling get on board internet etc. send them home to see family every few months or so but will it be safe for them and will it ruin them or make them.

any thoughts,advice

Bluesky
bluesky18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2009, 06:15   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Greetings, and welcome aboard Bluesky.

We all started out with similar inexperience and dreams; and most of us survived the learning curve. As long as you know your changing limitations, there's no madness at all in persuing your dreams.

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2009, 07:49   #3
CF Adviser

Boat: Boatless, for now, Cat enthusiast
Bluesky --

Welcome to the asylum!

ID

Observations are gold; hypotheses, silver; and conclusions, bronze.

Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote.--Ben Franklin

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but not their own facts.--Daniel Patrick Moynihan