Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-10-2014, 16:58   #1

Extreme Novice asks for Help

Hello all
New to the site. First post.
I am a complete novice when it comes to sailing. I've always dreamed of sailing the world but life went in other directions. Well, here I am, 39 years old, and really want to make my daydreams a reality.

Experience: none (unless you count a 14' flat bottom up and down Texas rivers doin' some spotlight fishing) lol

I have been reading on this site daily for the past 4 months. I have read and am reading as many books as I can, but there is only so much time to read and I can't read two books at the exact same time (that'd be cool tho huh). Ok, I know, blah blah blah blah. Needless to say, I have a million questions.

My plan: I want to get an ocean going liveaboard boat, 30' to 35', for me, my wify type person, and my 3yr old son; do some US coastal sailing to get the experience 'we' need, then take off into the wild blue yonder. Yes, I'm aware of the 'You should make sure you can live with each other in such a cramped space for long periods' bit, so please refrain thank you. I am a jack of all trades and am an electrician and mechanic. I am a certified autobody tech, and woodworking has been my hobby all my life (one of my many). So, maintenance and working on/with boats won't be a problem. Also I'm very tech savvy. But for the life of me I can't find the answer to one very simple small, probably obvious, staring me right in the freakin' face answer.

Do I need some sort of license to operate my future liveaboard ocean going boat? After that, how about helping simplify some of my future research by answering a few more.
Do I have to take some sort of certified class or can I learn from other sailors?
What documents do me and my family need to set out into said wild blue yonder. Medical, Legal, etc.