Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-09-2017, 16:10   #1

Beginner from Colorado looking for Schools

Hello, I am new to sailing and seeking instruction with an eye towards future chartering and possible ownership. I am from landlocked Colorado and know oodles of mountain things, but will be starting from scratch on sailing. My first intent is to take two weeks of ocean sailing instruction during the upcoming holiday season, and it's my druthers to take courses somewhere warm and take a breather from the mountain winter.

I seek recommended schools that will be in nice January sailing climates. That's the likes of Australia, NZ, South Africa, Mexico. About all I have to go on right now is if the school has a professional-looking website, which is hardly better than a shot in the dark.

I realize that good schooling is more important than good certifications, but gander that the RYA/ICC path may be a tad more ubiquitous than ASA/IPC, so my first search was going to be for Competent Crew + Day Skipper done back-to-back over a two-week holiday around Christmas/New Years'. If I went the ASA route that'd be 101, 103 and Bareboat Cruising 104 still done in two weeks. I can read up on bookish stuff ahead of time.

Thanks much!
REB_Colorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2017, 09:57   #2
Marine Service Provider

Re: Beginner from Colorado looking for Schools

Hi! If you opt for the ASA route we would love to help you out with your sail training adventure! Check out our website - but as you point out, that doesn't really tell the whole story.

I would encourage you to also take a look at our TripAdvisor page (https://www.tripadvisor.com/Attracti...h_Grenada.html) Independant review sites like TripAdvisor are a great way to get a feel for the school.