Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Powered Boats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-04-2012, 00:17   #1

Taking a powered cruiser down to La Paz, Mexico

I'm making preparations to purchase a 30-35' power cruiser in the next 12 to 18 months and take it down to (and keep it at) La Paz, Mexico.

I've done some preiminary research, and given that I'm new to boating, I'll take the safety and education course at uspowerboating.com. Are there other courses or steps I could take to be better prepared?

What's the minimum size boat required to cross the Sea of Corez? Would a 30' Sea Ray be large enough?

Are there up-to-date guides or other materials that cover the logistics of crossing into Mexico, and keeping a boat down there for an extended period of time?
contract is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2012, 04:13   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: Taking a powered cruiser down to La Paz, Mexico

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, contract.

Depending upon your existing skill set, Piloting, Advanced Piloting, & Junior Navigation (etc) might be useful courses
http://www.usps.org/eddept/p/main.htm

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2012, 05:13   #3

Boat: Cruisers Yachts 420 Express
Send a message via ICQ to jeremiason Send a message via Yahoo to jeremiason Send a message via Skype™ to jeremiason

My wife and I spent six months in the Sea of Cortez or the Gulfo de California as the Mexicans call it. It is an amazing place, straight out of a ational Geographic Magazine. We loved it and will return someday.