Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 23-02-2013, 10:19   #1

Single vs. Twin

I'm just beginning the process of considering a powered boat over sail and have been reading some old posts to gain some context. I have a couple of questions for which I haven't yet found answers. In fact, I don't understand everything I know.

I'm relatively certain that this has been thrashed out in the past, but my various attempts to find old threads have failed. Perhaps it has to do with the specific terms I'm using, so I would appreciate links, please.

Ideally, I'd like the economy of a single, but would like more of a safety reserve than a radio call for help if the main engine goes south. Are there alternatives, such as a generator motor driving a normally-feathered prop, or something like that?

Old 23-02-2013, 10:29   #2

Boat: Mainship Pilot 34
Re: Single vs. Twin

Don't reinvent the wheel. It has been debated exhaustively, maybe nausiatingly on trawlerforum at Single vs Twin: The EPIC Thread - Trawler Forum.

David

Old 23-02-2013, 10:31   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422

Some old fishing boats had a small, secondary engine set off center.

Or you could mount a bracket and outboard on the transom.
Old 23-02-2013, 10:38   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: research vessel

It boils down to cost per horsepower versus better maneuverability and less of a chance of being dead in the water. For over a certain size I think you are overall better off with a twin. I have had an engine go down a number of times and was fortunate that I did not have to get towed in.

I would not consider a single main engine and some sort of generator powered electrical drive....just get a second propulsion engine. You can also knock out a prop or bend a shaft (both of which I have done) and then what good does an electrical drive do you?