Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Powered Boats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-05-2014, 19:55   #1

Boat: 2018 Seadoo GTX 230
Searay or Cruisers boats?

I am looking at all types of boats. I am new to big boats having owned small inland lake runabouts.

I want to cruise from Florida to the Bahamas and beyond.

Two boats that I like are the 38' Cruiser Yachts and the Searay boats the same size.

Of these two boats is one better than the other?

Or what else should I look at in the used 100k range?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
tuffr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2014, 21:19   #2

Boat: Various
Re: Searay or Cruisers boats?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tuffr2 View Post
I am looking at all types of boats. I am new to big boats having owned small inland lake runabouts.

I want to cruise from Florida to the Bahamas and beyond.

Two boats that I like are the 38' Cruiser Yachts and the Searay boats the same size.

Of these two boats is one better than the other?

Or what else should I look at in the used 100k range?

Well, two things for cruising those areas that are necessary, the boat and the experience to operate it. Hope you're not planning on just jumping in and heading out to the Bahamas and beyond.

Generally both of the boats you mention are going to lack the range for offshore cruising. Furthermore, while in a perfect weather window they'd be capable of handling the water to the Bahamas, they're neither one rough water boats or ocean going vessels.