Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-04-2019, 23:14   #1

Cruiser suggestions

Hello everyone,
First time posting. I'm just starting the process of looking for a cruiser. I'm not sure what fits my needs so I'd definitely take any advice you can offer. Fill disclosure, I'm new to boating so forgive my ignorance.

Needs
Able to host 6-8 people
Able to live aboard for up to a week or more
Trailerable
Less than 75k
I'd like to be able to cruise down the east coast Atlantic side or ICW.
Would be a huge plus if it could cut across from Florida to the Bahamas and further south in the Caribbean

I've looked at some Bayliners so far that I think might satisfy all of these needs I'd love to hear your thoughts and suggestions.
Casper19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2019, 00:09   #2
cruiser

Boat: Retired from CF
Re: Cruiser suggestions

You do mean without sails, correct?
john61ct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2019, 02:13   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Wheeler Shipyard 83' ex USCG

I can't imagine a trailerable boat that could host 6-8 people for a week. Maybe if you have a semi as a tow vehicle.
Lepke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2019, 04:56   #4

Boat: Carver 356

Ok, someone has to say...
Take some boating classes. The Coast Guard Aux and US Power Squadron both offer classes. At a minimum, take the boating safety class and then follow up with a seamanship class. Actual classes, not online.

My advice, start with something smaller, more manageable to get some experience before moving up in size to the outside limits of a trailerable boat. Around 28' is about as big a cruiser you will find to be trailerable. What vehicle do you have to pull it with?
Chuck34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2019, 05:03   #5