Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Powered Boats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-07-2013, 05:42   #1

Caterpilla Engine Question?

Hello gals and guys,

I have a few questions about Cat engines if anyone has any experience with these engines and would like to chime in.

How many hours would you say until an overhaul is needed?

I've heard many a time that DD run forever if cared for, is this the same for Cats?

Why does everyone say that Cats are top shelf?

What exactly is done during an overhaul? How much do they cost roughly?
Old 07-07-2013, 05:45   #2
cruiser

Boat: Tayana Surprise 45 schooner "Union Pacific"
Re: Caterpilla Engine Question?

i am a diesel mechanic, but need a ton more information.
model would be a good start, otherwise an overhaul can run form $8000 for an inline 6 to $250,000 for the V12 from a dozer.
scoobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 05:51   #3

Boat: 58' Sedan Bridge

Cats in general are good and will run forever if well cared for, too... although they've had a (very few) not so good. Would need model info.

Detroits are 2-stroke, so potentially a little slobbery (a technical term)...

-Chris
Old 07-07-2013, 05:54   #4

Boat: ‘01 Catana 401
On a commercial fishing vessel Cats are regularly seen with 15000-20000 hours before an overhaul.
That being said, commercial engines are de-rated in both hp and rotational speed from their pleasure craft rated brethren. What I'm trying to say is a pleasure craft operated in a manner that keeps the engines operating under less stress than full throttle all the time will last longer. In essence the answer is it depends.