Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Powered Boats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-02-2014, 23:03   #1

Blue Water House Boats

Hey you guys,

So I joined this forum because my last "boat" forum was a complete bust of negative irritating A-holes and I still have questions regarding my boat.

Last year in late spring, My father who is a boat mechanic by trade and Antique car builder by hobby bought a 30(maybe 32) foot blue water house boat that had been left to its own accord at a dock right across his work for the past year +. It somehow ( still don't know other than guesses ) got caught on the dock and sunk thanks to a dead battery and pumps that do not work. The boat was thankfully risen only a few short hours later and did not sink all the way to the roof.

About half of the upper living areas were submerged and there is still a hell of a water line on parts I did not paint over. I had at the time been living on a Trawler ( forgot the type ) 50ft with no running water, no pump, no bathroom, etc. But I used my parents house for all that and made a kitchen using a electric skillet! It worked for two years. My father however wants to sell this antique boat and get me another place to live. Hence the blue-water boat find.

The old forum had said it was a poor buy and wouldn't be worth the money. I wasn't looking for a 100 thousand dollar vessel to stay on, just something that had a bathroom for Christ sake.

Anyway...it took a while but I am currently living on her. She has a few things still to fix but shes come a long way.

Blog: The Big BlueWater

My questions mainly are: