Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2013, 18:00   #16

Re: Basic Power Cruising Questions

The site isn't letting me reply with a link without being approved by a moderator. What type of hull is a 1990 Mainship 41 Grand Salon? To me it would seem to be a semi-displacement. Like I said I am completely green to think and I am sorry for asking such basic questions.

Another note:
I just got off the phone with my Uncle who is a certified USCG charter Captain. He informed me of "port/anchor fees"...what are these and what do they usually range from?
New2Cruise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 05:59   #17

Boat: Nordic Tug 37

Quote:
Originally Posted by New2Cruise View Post
Hello,

First off, I would like to say I am as new to this as one could possibly be. I have no experience owning a power yacht and have no pride about thinking I know anything. I am only 29 so I know that I am young and have a lot to learn. I am looking into buying a boat for my wife and I to be able to cruise the Caribbean/gulf coast on when I retire. I have a decent amount of experience being a passenger on a boat but barely any piloting one.
Hi New2Cruise,

You might consider starting with a smaller cruiser, to begin building skills and getting more of an understanding of owning equipping maintaining and cruising your own vessel. We started with a C-Dory 22 Cruiser, cruisng at first on Lake Powell and other big western lakes, then the San Juans and lower British Columbia coast. In a few years we had built the skills and experience to spend a summer in Southeast Alaska on our little cruiser.

For more on this concept, you could take a peek at my book, Cruising in a Big Way". You can read a 28-page preview on the self-publishhing site lulu.com, or a less extensive one on Amazon.