Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Powered Boats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2013, 10:35   #1

Basic Power Cruising Questions

Hello,

First off, I would like to say I am as new to this as one could possibly be. I have no experience owning a power yacht and have no pride about thinking I know anything. I am only 29 so I know that I am young and have a lot to learn. I am looking into buying a boat for my wife and I to be able to cruise the Caribbean/gulf coast on when I retire. I have a decent amount of experience being a passenger on a boat but barely any piloting one.

To the meat of it: I am thinking somewhere in the 36-40' size. It would be just my wife and I on the boat, but would like to allow space to have family on board if desired. I would like a powered boat and that is why I posted this in the powered section. What kind of boat should I be looking into? How do I know if a 36' boat I am looking at would be a good hull design to be in open waters? What kind of power plant is best suited to my needs? I don't plan at this time to be crossing oceans, more coastal hoping. If you reply can you provide me a link to a picture of a comparable boat to what I would need since I am a visual type person.

Again, this is something that is ten years down the road, not something that is an impulse buy. Please provide either reference on why I am wrong in what I am wanting through personal experience or documentation. I don't really want to hear the "My friend's friend's brother's uncle said". Thank you in advance.
New2Cruise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 12:44   #2

Boat: Mainship Pilot 34
Re: Basic Power Cruising Questions