Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Powered Boats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-10-2019, 07:43   #1

Are these true "coastal cruisers"?

Hi, I am new to the sight and new to larger boats.

I am interested in a few used boats that use the name "Costal Cruiser." They are the Bluewater 42 Coastal Cruiser and the Three Bouys 63 Coastal Cruiser.

I plan to live aboard full time on the California Coast, with possible trips up to the NW and down to Mexico.

Are these boats capable of this?

Thanks in advance for your advice.
carlazzomark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 11:26   #2

Boat: 58' Sedan Bridge
Re: Are these true "coastal cruisers"?

Don't know about Three Buoys... but the Bluewater boats have a "certainly no rougher than coastal" reputation on the 'net. Not sure how much of that comes from actual owners or from the peanut gallery. Do a broad 'net search for reviews.

From the Bluewaters I've seen -- almost houseboat-like -- and from what I've heard of the West Coast situation, I don't think that's the "coastal" everyone had in mind. Comparatively speaking, the East Coast, and the ICW bail-outs, is much more benign.

There are several west coastie powerboaters on trawlerforum.com, a sister site to this one, and they could probably advise better.

-Chris

-Chris
Old 08-10-2019, 16:16   #3
cruiser

Boat: Retired from CF

Usually the term "coastal cruiser" is used as a shortcut for "not suitable for offshore passagemaking".

When the coast you're cruising is subject to such harsh conditions, maybe better to look for boats capable of being upfitted for bluewater, but in their current state not quite ready to go.