Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-09-2008, 07:22   #1

Boat: Grand Banks 42 Classic - Heads Up
Send a message via Yahoo to CaptHead
Another boat sunk

There was another boat that sunk in my marina. I have been keeping count for several years and the count is:

Glass Boats - 8
Wood Boats - 0

Can't tell you why except I think glass boat owners have a cavalier attitude about maintenance. This last boat was less than 10 yrs old, I think.

The pic is too large to insert, sorry. This one is about a 26-28' Skipjack and was sitting on it's transome with the anchor pulpit out of the water.

The last one, only a month ago, was a 38' Uniflight twin diesel sport fisher. It is running now and getting re-wired.
1966 Grand Banks 42 Hull #17
Twin Ford Lehman Diesels
Sterling LP over Epoxy
Life is Great, Skip the Beach
CaptHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2008, 08:15   #2

Location: West Indies, Now live aboard as cruiser/ voyager often with guest/ friends
Boat: 36' Bene
Send a message via ICQ to Reality Check
"Can't tell you why except I think glass boat owners have a cavalier attitude about maintenance. This last boat was less than 10 yrs old, I think."

BUT... are you taking a cavalier statical view of it? What is the percentage of "glass" vs wood in your marina. In most I've been in over the past 20 years it has been about 90+% glass, 5-7 percent metal and maybe 1 to 2% wood... and most of them were dinks.

Now it would really be something if 90% were wood and less than 10% were glass....

It probably has nothing to do with owners of wood vs glass... only careless owners and better owners.
Old 30-09-2008, 08:33   #3