Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Powered Boats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-08-2015, 17:06   #1

1971 DeFever Offshore

This listing for a 1971 DeFever Offshore showed up on Craigslist today, and it seems like it might be a good price.

1971 54ft Offshore DeFever

I am admittedly completely ignorant. I like in San Diego area and am looking for a liveaboard to drive up to the SF Bay Area.

Is this simply too old to consider? Are there any obvious concerns to evaluate?

Also, I am a complete and absolute novice when it comes to boats. This would be a flyer--completely jumping in and getting totally wet (metaphorically) and learning as I go.

Feel free to tell me I'm insane to consider it.

Thanks for any feedback or shared experience.

David
dmmacfarlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2015, 17:24   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Islander 34
Re: 1971 DeFever Offshore

Be advised that most marina harbormasters in the SF bay area really do not like wood boats for liveaboard. Just Fyi.

There is a reason it's cheap.
sailorchic34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 07:45   #3

Boat: Custom 44' PH Trawler

Here's a link that should work better: 1971 54ft Offshore DeFever

That Defever looks to be in good condition in the pictures, but then again they all look better in ads than in real life.

It could indeed be a comfortable liveaboard.