Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2010, 13:55   #1

Boat: Looking for a new boat
Cancelling

It is blowing 25 gusting to 40 out of the East. I just got a call from my boss asking if I could make a run to pick some folks up on the mainland in our 35ft commuter boat. The harbor on the mainland is East facing and when I was there 3 hours ago it was gusting to 25 and already getting pretty nasty on the float. I am new to the job, still waiting on the paperwork to clear with the Coast Guard for my license (this run would have been for free). I told my boss that I wasn't really that comfortable with the trip and now I'm feeling guilty. I hate canceling, it stresses me out more than running in terrible weather. Now I am cozy inside watching the Patriots game and I can't enjoy my beer because I am feeling guilty. What the heck.
unbusted67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 14:04   #2
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate

Never regret cancelling... it beats regretting going... and its not just you and the boss its the passengers welfare as well... hero if alls well.. dangerous stupid sod if it don't

You can't beat a people up (for 75yrs+) and have them say..
"I Love You.. ". Murray Roman.
Yet the 'useful idiots' of the West still dance to the beat of the apartheid drums.
boatman61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 14:17   #3

Boat: Allures 44
Unbusted67,

As a former military and airline pilot, I feel your anxiety. There is always pressure to keep the schedule, whether it comes from our superiors, or customers, or (most often) ourselves.

However, there's another, more important pressure. It's the burden of leadership and the responsibility to do the right thing. Ultimately, you have to make the decision. It's lonely being the captain.