Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-04-2015, 10:00   #16
Registered User
 
Wrong's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,702
Re: Has someone updated software?

It's a change just like the one implemented in Yahoo where images and ads must be enabled in order use crucial functions or in the case of Cruisersforum participate in the forum. For example, if you want to respond to a post you won't see the 'quote' button if images are disabled. Disabling images WAS a means for avoiding the image bloat associated with ads. No more.

Another problem I'm seeing is threads who's link are nowhere near the link I am selecting open...
__________________

__________________
Wrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 10:12   #17
Moderator
 
Janet H's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pacific NW, USA
Boat: Cape Dory 27
Posts: 6,082
Images: 5
Re: Has someone updated software?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrong View Post
It's a change just like the one implemented in Yahoo where images and ads must be enabled in order use crucial functions or in the case of Cruisersforum participate in the forum. For example, if you want to respond to a post you won't see the 'quote' button if images are disabled. Disabling images WAS a means for avoiding the image bloat associated with ads. No more.

Another problem I'm seeing is threads who's link are nowhere near the link I am selecting open...


There was a change yesterday to the way we store and deliver member loaded images for viewing and all the little forum icons (smilies, etc) and that is all. We use a CDN to speed page loads. You can read about them here: Content delivery network - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Images and text are loaded separately now to the page, with priority given to text. This change is unrelated to ads.

If you are blocking the url of the images (as noted earlier) you may not see them. If you have an extremely lean connection you also may not see them or will see them well after text loads.
__________________

Janet H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 13:22   #18
Registered User
 
Wrong's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,702
Re: Has someone updated software?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janet H View Post
There was a change yesterday to the way we store and deliver member loaded images for viewing and all the little forum icons (smilies, etc) and that is all. We use a CDN to speed page loads. You can read about them here: Content delivery network - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Images and text are loaded separately now to the page, with priority given to text. This change is unrelated to ads.

If you are blocking the url of the images (as noted earlier) you may not see them. If you have an extremely lean connection you also may not see them or will see them well after text loads.
With all due respect, my android browser offers an option to load images in bandwidth management. If I disable this feature "...all the little forum icons (smilies, etc)...", INCLUDING THE "QUOTE" icon do not display. So, I have a choice to either load ALL images now or have no way to respond to posts. That means my system runs slower and I must endure the nuisance factor of having all images display on Cruisersforum. A possible solution I have not yet tried on Cruisersforum that works with Yahoo mail is to request a desktop site...

Edit: No diff with user agent set to desktop, or requesting desktop site. Load images must be enabled.
__________________
Wrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 18:39   #19
Senior Cruiser
 
DeepFrz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Boat: None at this time
Posts: 7,930
Re: Has someone updated software?

I'm not sure what was going on but people seem to be stuck on ad block. I do not have ad block on IE and it was the most screwed up. That being said I left for a few hrs today and when I came back my system was down and would not start up. It is now in the shop for diagnosis. Perhaps a memory problem but it was sure strange symptoms for a hardware problem. Of course that could be coincidence. Whatever my little Win 10 netbook is working okay for now...if only I could read this tiny little screen with my old, tired eyes...
__________________
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2015, 08:06   #20
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Solent, UK
Posts: 72
Re: Has someone updated software?

Janey H and Msponer
The hosts file entry was my problem. Deleted the line referencing cdn and all well. I am using FF and I checked with Chrome both on Win 7 which was also bad. Perhaps it would be sensible to make some sort of announcement to check the hosts file since the addition was needed when it was put in, to stop the forum updates being as slow as treacle.
Tony
__________________

__________________
tonyappuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
software

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satellite Internet For Online Business (Someone has to buy the booze) Sailor Amy Marine Electronics 7 07-03-2009 21:48



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:53.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.