Cruisers Forum

Closed Thread
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2011, 17:01   #31

Boat: O'Day 28
Re: A Call To Better Spelling

Sorry Lancer, but the term "English" should be capitalized in post #28. I was an English teacher for many years. I tend to catch more errors than the average guy. It's a curse really. Trust me. And it doesn't make you any friends. Know what I'm saying?
Old 02-04-2011, 17:03   #32

Boat: Wauquiez Pretorien 35

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lancerbye View Post
Is this another April fool's day thread coming in late? If we are worried about the spelling and punctuation of stuff written on the internet causing social degredation, I have to say we are too late. That ship has already sailed. Now that chat and texting abreviations are being added to the english dictionaries, I think the door is way past being opened. I don't think it affects sailing.
ug2bk
Old 02-04-2011, 17:05   #33

Boat: M/V Carquinez Coot

Much of English is non-phonetic because it has adopted many foreign words without revising the spelling to conform to rules. English has the largest vocabulary and greatest nuance (many synonyms with different connotations) at the expense of spelling ease.
Old 02-04-2011, 17:05   #34

Boat: FP Elba 45